About us

The University of Zaragoza

The origins of the University of Zaragoza go back to a study in the 12th century which gave Bachelor Degrees. During the 17th century it was elevated to the category of Universitas Magistrorum, at the petition of King Fernando, then King of Sicily. This category was later endorsed by Juan II of Aragón in 1477. However, the real starting point for the University dates back to 1542 when Carlos V signed in the “Cortes de Aragón” a privilege to elevate the studies to the rank of “General University of All Sciences”, and a Papal Bull approved this establishment of Studium Generale. Huesca is now the second capital city of Aragón. Its University tradition comes from the 14th century when the Sertoriana University was established, one of the first in Spain. Nowadays it consists of an extensive campus in which, among others, there is the Faculty of Humanities and Education, the Master’s headquarters. The Master in Museums is a international benchmark. Academic Staff members are master institutional representatives at prestigious international institutions such as ICOM and CECA.

The management team

The management team consists of professionals who stand out for their experience. Recognized researchers in their field with proven experience in team managing, have all displayed their organizational capacity from various high posted positions in public and university administration.

member photo

Jesús Pedro Lorente

Director / Professor of History of Art
member photo

Alfonso Revilla

Co-Director / Doctor en la Facultad de Ciencias Humanas y Educación
member photo

Natalia Juan

Assistant Director / Doctor in Art History
member photo

Pilar Rivero

Assistant Director / Lecturer of Didactics of Social Sciences
member photo

Alicia Escanilla

Educadora de museos y profesora de Didáctica de las Ciencias Sociales en la Universidad de Zaragoza
member photo

Carmen Zavala

Profesora Ayudante Doctora en el Departamento de Expresión Musical, Plástica y Corporal de la Universidad de Zaragoza